The Skin I’m In

Sitting here, moping a bit over the fact there’s little chance I can eat my chicken-flavored rice and turnip and that I’ve no place to store it, I find my gaze falling on my mango lavender lip balm. Recently I’ve decided to start really taking care of my skin, more than ‘just’ showering that is. Part of this is because I read an article that reminded me of some things I knew, like that you should have at least a little sun screen on you, your face especially, everyday. I lack a lotion with a sunblock in it, so I’ll have to work on that, but I have started to sue the lotion I have on my face in the morning. It’s especially important because of the dropping temperatures now, of course. I also use my lip balm every morning, too.

Granted, I seem to have this thing in my genes that makes me look younger than I am (thanks Mom and Dad) but I’m not taking care of my skin to look youthful when I’m fifty or sixty, but rather so that I can be healthier. The skin is the largest organ on a human’s body, so it is something rather important because of the protection it does provide. Looking younger when older is jsut an extra bonus; though, I will say, even if your face already has wrinkles on it and you’re well into your fifties, you can still start taking care of your skin. Yes, genetics play a part. Yes, smoking plays a part. Yes, drinking plays a part. Yes, sun exposure and lack of sun play a part. But how you care for your skin plays a part, too.

Man, woman, and anything in between, using lotion, sunblock, exfoliates, chap stick, and other things are very important to your skin’s health. At teh very least, you could invest in a lavender-infused pillow, which helps your skin and helps you sleep. Of course you might not have any problems with your skin, like I’m not too happy about how noticeable my pores are on my nose, but if you want to keep it that way, you need to have some care taken for it.

I’m not saying do anything extreme, but easing into it, like lotion or sunblock every morning, is probably a good idea. I’m just suggesting it, no matter your age or contentment with the look of your skin.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ntdc
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 08:36:25

    oh cool, skincare, this blog has everything one needs! 😛 though…I guess I use more stuff than you already lol and I mean not counting the normal stuff like tooth things, shaving cream, showergels (yes, I have…3 I think, in use atm), deo. I do use chapstick and don´t laugh :P, I looked it up on the net cause I didn´t know how to call it, and ithe description on the container translates to ‘moisture-fluid for 3-day-beards’ :grins: well it has a fancy marketing name like ‘hydra energy something’ too of course but only the description told me what it was supposed to be for really 😉 yea, either way it serves as a kind of all-in-one aftershave+lotion and absorbs to not feelable (which is very important! :P), so it´s a good deal, I have a tin of the simple original nivea creme, which comes onto whatever dry or rough spots I notice, face or body, then 2 hair things – a shiny gel like one and some sticky um weird grey mass lol oh and while I hate sunscreen I do use sungel, which is for sports specifically and absorbs well and doesn´t run into your eyes if you sweat and does the job pretty well, as I do remember ‘regular’ sunscreen from years ago, I had my last sunburn as a teen, so you can see I´m careful there 😛 I only use sunscreen though in holidays or when I know I´ll be outside for hours in the sun, I´d be careful to use it regardless of how long you´re effectively outside or weather it is sunny or not (yes I know uv-rays do come even through clouded skies, carwindows etc) because your skin needs sunlight to produce vitamin D, and afair you need to be outside without sunscreen or block for something like 5-10 minutes minimum daily to not lack in it!
    but now…lavender infused pillow? what exactly is that?

    Like

    Reply

    • Deidre
      Oct 08, 2014 @ 18:34:44

      Thank you for your sarcasm 😛
      Moisture fluid for 3 day beards? O.O Well, that’s an…interesting description lol but good you figured out what it was else 😛 Though what you’re describing doesn’t sound like chapstick as I think of it, here chapstick=for chapped lips/lip balm (in some cases), interesting, though. And, yes, not being able to feel that kind of stuff usually is a good thing, I do agree lol Kinda scared to ask what the ‘sticky gray mass’ is though 😛
      Never heard of sungel, but usually is good if it doesn’t run into your eyes, yes, true *nods* and yes, clearly you are careful with not getting burned, so congratulations on that bit lol as for needing Vitamin D, I know that, and some sunscreens, usually if in lotion or a ‘special’ kind, are low enough in SPF that you can get that vitamin along with keeping enough UVA rays off your skin; lest that’s how I’ve come to understand it.
      And a lavender infused pillow is, hm… this: http://www.lavenderannes.com/lavender-annes-saltsscrubs.html (scroll to the bottom and read for ‘dream pillow)
      Basically it’s a pillow with lavender in it, and you can make it on your, too, of course by sewing lavender seeds/dried flowers into the pillow…or just stuffing it in there, though it won’t be as evenly spaced. ‘Course the description doesn’t mention it can help as a sleep aid, but it can.

      Like

      Reply

      • ntdc
        Oct 08, 2014 @ 19:56:50

        sorry I must dissappoint you, that wasn´t sarcasm, I found it very interesting 😛 and chapstick=against chapped lips, yes, exactly that. though you don´t call it chapstick here, or any translation of it, it´s ‘Labello’, like you call paper handkerchiefs ‘Tempo’, after the brandnames, don´t think many people say ‘give me your lipbalm please’ or ‘do you have a hankie’, it´s always Labello and Tempo…says something about the power of marketing I guess. ah I see, sounds interesting with the pillow, but I don´t like lavender much really, are there some with ground coffee beans maybe too? 😛 oh and the stidky grey mass is harmless, don´t worry 😉 it´s just hair wax which is supposed to make the hair stand the way you want but it´s ‘matte’ and supposed to give some dry ruffled surfer hair look, which it does, you don´t see anything of it once it´s in your hair, at least on your second try to use it when you´ve learned to use it very sparingly 😛 and good, after smart phones maybe now there are smart sunscreens who let the vitamins in…

        Like

  2. ntdc
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 08:59:43

    hm, I have a nail buffer too. and use it. but not sure if it counts as a maintenance tool like nail clippers and therefore doesn´t count as skin-care- or if it does count cause it´s not really needed to use it (ok, one can argue that nail clipping isn´t really needed either… HEY! I thought I´d get a pic of an indian guru when googling, but… http://rickdoppa.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/see-man-with-longest-fingernails-ever.html ) but you get what I mean -_-

    Like

    Reply

    • Deidre
      Oct 08, 2014 @ 18:36:08

      I think that counts as extra and…well, nails -are- dead skin, so could technically be skin care maybe. And yes, I get what you mean with the pic and all lol Nail clipping is 100% needed, it’s just nice 😉

      Like

      Reply

  3. ntdc
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 20:08:08

    yes, nails and hair care since dead skin technically, would count as skincare I guess. on that note to my defense 😛 I don´t use extra shampoo or face wash but just body wash for hair, face, body, so even with 3 different ones (1 of them in sports bag too), it´s just body wash in my shower…hm ok and a pine scent bathing stuff but I can´t even remember when I used it last time, maybe going to throw it away right now actually -_-

    Like

    Reply

  4. Deidre
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 02:30:43

    Coffee bean pillow? That probably wouldn’t help you sleep much lol And hair wax, I see…yea, must be mostly a guy thing, since don’t think many girls use that, hence why I’ve no idea what it was until you told me 😛 But, damn, that means the hair style I like on guys could jsut be due to hair wax? Oh well lol
    Hm…though body wash for hair..didn’t realize that would work; I tend to a conditioner/shampoo rather, but still, interesting that your able to sue body wash for that. And well, you never know wen you might want pine scented stuff, Christmas is in a couple months afterall 😉

    Like

    Reply

  5. ntdc
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 08:22:57

    http://7sec0nds.wordpress.com/2014/10/09/instructions-of-use-dont-read-this-blog-post-unless-you-know-about-the-grey-mass/

    :grins: maybe I´ll give you the text of the backside of ‘grey mass’ too, for translation and for a probably really good laugh…and no, unless you meet them right on the beach with their surfboard under the arm, probably they used grey mass or comparable US-products P btw that line features a ‘salt water spray’ too, but I hate spray things and literally stick to my grey mass 😛

    Like

    Reply

    • Deidre
      Oct 09, 2014 @ 15:34:18

      Hm, well I emailed you on how the link and your blog don’t seem to like me, so if that gets fixed, will read properly then 😛
      Well you never know, maybe their hair just happens to look like that >.> Yea, I know doubtful lol and salt water spray? hm, -that- actually sounds familiar, but, yes, better stick to your gray mass if not liking sprays lol

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

