Oh Dear God…

I was looking Facebook and I so very much hope some quotes I came across that are about ‘Republicans on Rape’ (which is a bit overboard and generalizing, but still) are false. Especially this one:

“If a woman has the right to an abortion, why shouldn’t a man be free to use his superior strength to force himself on a woman? At least the rapist’s pursuit of sexual freedom doesn’t [in most cases] result in anyone’s death.”

Please tell me no one actually thinks like that. The other quotes aren’t much better, some saying rape victims should make the best of a bad situation and that rape is inevitable, but this one… I really hope no one thinks like that. Though some probably do.

Excuse me while I go sob in a corner.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ntdc
    Oct 22, 2014 @ 10:44:52

    hm, there´s a german word for that, which the dictionary can´t translate into english, Scheinkausalität, it means the act of linking two phenomenons despite that there is no proof of a causality between both. politicians generally love that and are good in it, like picking out something that is good since they are in power and claiming it´s because they are in power, or that something awful is happening in a land because the other party is in power, while those phenomenons are simply correlating, are there at the same time doesn´t mean there is any causality of course.
    people wish to understand complicated processes in the world, and seek refuge in Scheinkausalitäten often, because if makes things simple, or the real cause is yet not known, or they blend the real cause out…if subconsciously or on purpose. If it´s people with higher intellectual abilities and knowledge, like hopefully those who steer political parties are, it´s probably on purpose…(which again might make it not hoped for…) else they might be too stupid to see it. Either way it´s neither good if they are stupid enough to believe that themselves nor if they use it purposely. ethically dubious to misuse that to opinionate people who are not clever or inquiring enough to see through it.

    Like

    Reply

    • Deidre
      Oct 23, 2014 @ 02:12:58

      Scheinkausalitäten, I like that word now 😛 Though I do get what you mean, just not sure if there’s any even similar word to it in English; though I know the -idea- exists. But, yes, using that is something that is very..politiciany, and sucks when people have flawed logic and follow said train of thought.

      Like

      Reply

  2. ntdc
    Oct 22, 2014 @ 11:25:50

    I guess those things are not put there so other people can comment below all that bs, but this is what I think would stand below that sooner than later:

    “If a woman has the right to an abortion, why shouldn’t a man be free to use his superior strength to force himself on a woman? At least the rapist’s pursuit of sexual freedom doesn’t [in most cases] result in anyone’s death.”

    comments:

    to say it pithy enough for a republican like putting up or believing in that quote to understand: the if/why there is totally wacky, guys and gals.

    “If a state in the near or far east (or a state not so far away at all) has the right to exert the death penalty on humans, why shouldn´t I be free to use my superior strength to force you out of your fancy suburb mansion and live there myself? At least my pursuit of having a roof over my head, doesn’t [in most cases] result in anyone’s death. (if it makes me more likeable to you I could let your wife and female relations stay in there, so I have someone to rape, because women get abortions).”
    or, if you still don´t get it:
    “If there are people who throw away food, why shouldn´t I have the right to use my superior strength and never pay for my meals at the chinese snack stand.”

    but, with the same right and rhetoric, I could as well say:

    “If there are white butterflies, why don´t have elephants the right to steal peanuts from people´s pockets.”

    the if/why, just doesn´t work, there.

    got a problem with the laws, buddy? didn´t you say she has the right?

    you can´t get a woman any other way or what´s your problem?
    ___________________________________________________________

    ‘some saying rape victims should make the best of a bad situation’

    comments:

    to make the best of the bad situation, I´d suggest get a gun and with it´s superior strength shoot the rapist where it hurts, at least that doesn’t [in most cases] result in anyone’s death.

    like not pulling you to court to save the state the trial expenses?
    _____________________________________________________________
    ‘rape is inevitable’

    comments:

    um, I know it´s happening far too much, but I´ve yet to see a statistic that says 100% of all women have been raped ?!

    if all people were as butterbrained as you, maybe, but they aren´t

    ___________________
    ___________________

    well, I know there´d be a -lot- of comments like that, which should be a consolation, but I fear I can´t tell you that ‘no one actually thinks like that’, cause, gene pool and such, you know. hm :wonders if the GOR sims are full of republicans now: 😛

    Like

    Reply

    • Deidre
      Oct 23, 2014 @ 02:18:04

      Yea, that sounds about like the comments that would probably be under it. But I stayed out of reading the comments on this one, was already stabbed in the heart enough 😛 But, hm, now that I think of it, for people who follow the original logic, how do they explain the much less reported instance of 1 in 5 -men- being raped, sometimes by women? Might not be 1 in 3, but still.
      And, well, to be fair, not all Republicans think like that, I’m sure, and I’m sure some Democrats do, too, even if that is awful in either case. But, well, the right-side of the spectrum is more likely to, I guess, because of the ideals they like to upheld. At least the extremists especially. But maybe some Gor players fit in that 😉

      Like

      Reply

  3. ntdc
    Oct 28, 2014 @ 07:38:26

    hm, I don´t really believe those numbers, but how do they explain it…the one from your main quote with that 1 in 5 men is a doctor who excercises abortions? -_- no idea really

    Like

    Reply

    • Deidre
      Oct 30, 2014 @ 19:08:56

      I just know that’s what I’ve heard, not sure if the numbers are entirely right or not, though, yes. As for explaining what you say…yea, logic tends to go out the window with some things like this.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

