Introversion vs. Extroversion

My mind is on this topic for a simple reason, really; last night I went out to a club, and tonight some people I know are wanting to go out. Again. I can’t because I strongly can’t, so it’s PJ time for me. Next weekend, sure, if I wasn’t going to be home for break. This weekend? No, no way whatsoever. Funny enough, we had been speaking on introversion and extroversion recently in my psych class, and for those of you who may be unaware of the difference, here it is: extroversion is, basically, when someone can regain their energy form being around others and being around others uplifts their mood more than if they were on their own, while introversion is when someone needs to take alone time to recharge their batteries and can be happy on their own as much as when hanging out with others, sometimes more so. That’s not to say one is more social than the other, only that they get their energy form different places and one has more ‘stamina’ when it comes to going out night after night.

Now, it isn’t so much the socialization aspect that is in thought here, since extroverts can be recharged simply by going to someplace by themselves as much as with friends. it’s more so the effects that come from large, energetic groups or being on your own. I cannot say much for extroverts, as I can only speak form observation, and I am hardly a voice for all introverts, but I know how large groups affect me. One person, or a handful that I know, is one thing, but going off to some crowded something that involves more than just sitting, is likely to knock me down the next day. And if repeated, the effects will only build. Something else that comes from crowds for me is that my creativity takes a hit. I’m less likely to come up with anything novel after having been out and about, unless I’m in a ‘I want to be around people’ mood, which is rare.

This is purely speculation on my part, but is it not possible that, for both side of the coin, being in their respective settings helps their creativity? If someone is relaxed, they are more likely to be creative. If you are an extrovert, you may be more prone to creativity after coming home from some outing, or during said outing. If you are an introvert, you may be more likely to experience creativity after a nice day on your own or so. Granted it is suggested most people are actually in the middle of these two and the few who are one or the other are outliers, but I’m not entirely certain i agree with this theory. It has also been stipulated, that a few extroverts are really introverts but, because of how society prefers social interaction and participation, these people have ‘tricked’ themselves into thinking they are extroverts; even if they feel constantly run-down and in a not so great mood after being around crowds for a while. That theory may be correct, but it could possibly go either way really.

Even with those two possibilities, I do believe that one’s creativity levels are affected by the sort of person they are. And knowing if you are an introvert or extrovert can be rather helpful in the long run on deciding how to go about certain things in your life. Of course, following what feels right to you can help just as much without knowing if there is an exact name for this. It is also important to understand both sides of this coin. If you are an introvert, you should understand that while extroverts may seem a bit ‘much’ to you, it’s simply how they are, what they need. And if you are an extrovert, you should understand that introverts need that precious alone time that the current fast-paced, social world allows only so little of.

I could get into if virtual interaction, such as Second Life or World of Warcraft, is ‘really’ interaction and if it’ll tire out an introvert and give an extrovert their energy (I don’t think so, least roleplay does me better than large groups of people physically), or if there is a ‘norm’ between the two, and other such things, but there is quite a bit written on the subject. At least from the introvert side, so far only so much is written on extroverts. It would be nice, of course, if there was a healthy amount on both sides, but that is yet to be seen. What really needs to be known, for now, is that if you have friends or family who seem the opposite in some ways, it’s important you understand them and they understand you. Else, you’re friendship/familial relationship won’t work too well.

Leave a Reply

