Father’s Day

So, for all the U.S. people, it was Father’s Day today. For a lot of people that means a lot of different things. For me, it really was just the last day that, for sure, my brother and I will both be here for that. While my dad doesn’t like to admit to the whole missing us thing, it’s clear. And he was rather upset he had to work today, which ended up with my mom getting creative and all of us going up to his work to bring him some cake. He appreciated it, I could tell. It’s really those little things that can make such a difference for someone, that can show how you care about them. Little tiny gestures of love and affection.

I don’t really have much to say, because all I can think of when it comes to these holidays is how glad I am to have the parents that I do, to have the relationship to both of them that I do. I’ve seen so many people who are distanced from not one, but both of their parents for one or another reason and I know I am damned lucky. I’m glad that this bond exists and will continue to exist for the foreseeable future. Do I agree with everything my dad or mom say? No. Do I share the same views? Not really, but I don’t fele arguing on some things. But that doesn’t mean much. People bite their tongue around people they care about all the time, even if they have an open dialogue.

Like I said, though, I don’t have much to say. People don’t spend as much on Father’s Day overall, probably because guys in general are so hard to shop for. But it can still be meaningful. And I like to think that we did pretty good this year. So while I cannot write as much about my dad as I could my mom (something I sorely hope to rectify. I found out one story, I need more. ) I still care about him deeply. He’s my dad, I love him, and I really don’t see that changing.

Leave a Reply

