Random Ramble about Oddities

School has been going on for a couple weeks now, so I’ve been here for about a month probably. It’s nice to be back, nice to be living with my friends, nice to have our own bathroom, and just generally nice to be back in the swing of things. It’s been good besides the fact that I haven’t quite felt calm yet. More or less my mood has been low for on wards of a week, and I’ve been running around trying to get things together for one of the club on campus. The club thing is working out somewhat, but the rest…it’s getting there. It’s really just a matter of being reassured about some things and not worrying over things I logically shouldn’t worry about. But it’s getting there. It’ll take time for me to feel completely better, but soon hopefully.

Otherwise, the only thing of note i can think of is something I had read the other day about the difference between high school and college. What most kids in high school and down probably think college is..they’ll soon find it’s the exact opposite. Just looking at some of the first years has me shaking my head, if only because they seem to go out so often. How they manage that and work, I don’t know, but I feel as if that behavior will change soon enough. Either way, people probably think outfits matter, that sitting alone is horrible, that getting tutoring is bad, and that living in the library is sad. None of this is true in college, which is really strange, when you think about it. The level of fucks one give sin high school drastically drops when you reach a certain point in your first year of college. This is besides community college, of course, which has slightly different rules. From my experience with that, people didn’t care, but at the same time people did. It likely had to do with the fact you don’t live on campus and the types and difficulties of courses are altered. But with a four year institution…well, apparently during finals people have been known to camp out with a tent and all in my school’s library. So if that doesn’t tell you something, well…

I can’t say I personally know anyone who is starting college this year, but to everyone who is and has high expectations and isn’t going to a prep type of school: you’re in for some news. Especially when the level of caring drops year after year and you may end up walking around in PJs with a blanket and teddy bear to complete the outfit. Why? Because you can and no one else will bat an eye.

College is a weird time, but I assume it’s because everyone’s too focused on work to really concern themselves with the little things. Especially the part about eating alone since you might only have all of 20 minutes to eat before running to class or work. Of course some of these things may not help people see you as an adult (which I am still sour about the superintendent speaking at my brother’s graduation and insinuating that college students are not adults), we are. The only difference is we’re doing what we ‘have’ to do to make money in certain fields. Sure, everyone could go and try to start a business of some sort, but the chances of all of those succeeding is rather slim. Which leaves college or the armed forces.

This is mostly a random ramble about the strangeness of the world I’ve come to find myself in, but there it is anyway. Strange or not, I think it works.

Leave a Reply

