Hm

I think I’ve mentioned before I don’t talk about certain things to certain people. Usually I’ll speak my mind, have a healthy debate, but then the other times… Well. I was looking facebook, as I do when I’m bored, and again I saw something that made me so very much want to say something. Not on facebook, because I don’t post my views on there, but call the person up and say ‘well, this is wrong.a misconception and…’. But I didn’t. I’m not going to. Why? Because I have unconditional love for the person who posted it, because he is my family and I do not want there to be any issue there. While I might be able to accept differing views and accept it as one’s opinion once they at least know what is true and what not, I don’t know how he would take it.

What I tend to do when it comes to my family or friends who might not take something so easily is that I hint at it, I give small things, but then I change the subject before it becomes a big thing. Just enough to make them think. When I go home I plan to do it as I can. At this point I have to say I’m rather glad I have seemed to have inherited my mom’s perspective more than my dad’s. As much as I love both, my dad is definitely more right than I am. While being more right is not bad in and of itself, some of his beliefs give me pause and make me hint things. The same goes for my brother. He is more right. And he posted something full of misconceptions. I love him, but I sorely want to to correct him. But sometimes things like religion and politics are best kept to oneself to circumvent tears in a family.

I am opinionated, but I don’t share my views openly for that reason alone. My views may be splashed across this blog, but the chances of anyone finding it who I don’t want to get in a debate about? Slim to none. I doubt any family or friends are googling me, so I’m safe. If it is found…I’ll cross that bridge when or if I get there.

But this still leads me to the fact that I am sorely worried about the state of the U.S. as of the moment. Why you ask? Because Trump may win. Because people are terrified of Muslims for no reason other than some terrorists were calling themselves Muslim. Because people stand behind someone who, while entitled to her opinion, did not do her GOVERNMENT job due to her religion. If she could not do her job, she should have quit. You work in a government agency, you quit or you just do your job. Even if not in a government agency, that’s how it works. Because religion and state are mixing more and more and more people call the U.S. a ‘Christian’ nation. Because if you diverge from a certain template, it is assumed you were not born here.

It is worse other places, yes, but this country is not what it was ‘meant’ to be, and not for the reasons some assume. It’s a scary thought. People can have whatever opinion they want, but please, just remember that the U.S. is not based solely on certain opinions and that your opinion may be misinformed (I know some of mine may be). Just keep some things in mind when you say certain things. It’s not being politically correct or sensitive, it’s simply being informed and caring about people like you care about yourself.

Leave a Reply

